Saracens Blog

What are the differences between the many different landlord and tenant acts?

Landlord and Tenant Act 1954 is divided into two main parts. Part 1, Landlord and Tenant Act has now been superseded by a number of other Landlord and Tenant Acts. Part 2 is aimed at business tenancies. The aim of this Part is to provide security of tenure for business tenants who have been tenants of a property for a specified number of years.

Landlord and Tenant Act 1995 is aimed at covenants in leases. This Landlord and Tenant Act has a number of aims. For example, when a lease is assigned, there may be a number of covenants which bind the assignor. This Landlord and Tenant Act provide that upon the assignment of a lease, the assignor is release from the covenant. In addition, this Landlord and Tenant Act restricts the rights of entry in the event of the breach of a covenant.

Landlord and Tenant Act 1987 grants tenants a right of first refusal if the landlord makes a disposal. This right only applies if the tenant is a qualifying tenant and the disposal by the landlord is a relevant disposal. Therefore not all disposals are covered by this Landlord and Tenant Act.

Landlord and Tenant Act 1988 is aimed at introducing a number of provision relating to assignment. There are often a number requirements within a lease to seek landlord’s consent. This consent could be withheld by the landlord for no good reason. The aim of this act is to ensure this consent is only refused for good reason i.e reasonably.

Landlord and Tenant Act 1985 contains a number of miscellaneous provisions. For example, it contains provision relating to information to be given to the tenant, provision of rent books and repairing obligations.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Law Society Excellence Awards 2013 Shortlisted logo The Law Society Excellence Awards 2015 Shortlisted logo

Connect with us

Blog Archive

Browse by Date:

See results